Pity Party of One Please

Self-doubt, low self esteem, hate, anger, blame, distrust and lack of faith all accompany self pity. The darkness and desperation. The hopelessness and aimless wondering through life. These are also be part of self pity. I’m not saying that I have self pity, but I could easily head in that direction.

To say the last couple of weeks have been tough would be an understatement. To be out of work, unqualified for unemployment because I worked for a church hurts. A church with a leader that travels the world discussing compassion and caring, but his own leaders are exempt from doing it. Yes I could walk around full of self pity knowing those that should have been there through the tough times, my church family, just vanished. I had made the church a big part of my life, so with it ending like it did has left a huge void in my life. I limit my involvement with the church and only stick to attending mass, no more time, talent and treasure for now.

I know the pain will subside. I know life will go on. The scars may remain, but will fade over time. I will survive. I know better than to feel sorry for myself.

1 Corinthians 13:4-6   

Love is patient and kind; love does not envy or boast; it is not arrogant or rude. It does not insist on its own way; it is not irritable or resentful; it does not rejoice at wrongdoing, but rejoices with the truth.

 

About weightingtobe

On a journey for a full life.
This entry was posted in Christian, Faith, God, Jesus, Prayer, Religion, Self Improvement. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

