Lighten Things Up a Little

I know I’m dealing with some serious issues, butI want  to share a sweet story to lighten up the weekend.  My wife and I have a 2 1/2 year old red headed granddaughter.  She is the light of our life and up until last January her and her mom (or daughter) lived with us since the day of her birth.  There’s a story behind all that and the good man my daughter is marrying in a couple of weeks, but that is for another time.

Iris refers to us as JoJo & Dadaw, yes I’m Dadaw, and the following story happened this past week and is true, enjoy.

The story is yes JoJo and Dadaw attended their first movie with Little “I”. But it is the story before the story that is hilarious. JoJo and I went to pick up Iris and the two people that live with her. I waited in the car while JoJo went into the house to get the crew.

I could tell by the body language and attitudes of others that tensions were a little high. It took a couple of minutes to realize what was going on, but once I did I struggled dearly to not burst out laughing. Evidently for several minutes before leaving the house Iris REFUSED to swallow her last mouth full of food.  

All the way to the theatre it was one person after another telling Iris, if you don’t swallow your food:

We are turning around.

No movie for you.

You can stay in the car with Dadaw while the rest of us see the movie.

And the list went on and on.
As we pulled into the parking lot it became the moment of last resort. Dadaw drove and dropped everyone off at the door besides himself and the defiant one. As everyone exited the car she began to cry with her “mouth full of sausage I don’t get to go to the movie tantrum.” Feeling betrayed by the ones that abandoned her, the kind voice of reason from the front-seat calmed her. In his kind sweet voice he said, “All it will take Iris is for you swallowing that food and we can join the rest of them.”

Through the sounds of her cry you could hear an audible gulp followed by, “There Dadaw swallowed the food.” And in that moment the forty minute battle was over. I entered the backseat to unstrap her from her carseat. She voluntarily opened her mouth so that I could inspect that the final bite of sausage was gone. I dried hers tears, gave her a hug and a kiss on the cheek for her determination.

It made for an enjoyable movie that much sweeter.

About weightingtobe

On a journey for a full life.
This entry was posted in Christian, Faith, God, Jesus, Prayer, Religion, Self Improvement. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

